# **COMMUNITY COUNCIL OF STAFFORDSHIRE**

#### **BEST KEPT VILLAGE COMPETITION 2016**

#### **MAIN SPONSORS**

#### STAFFORDSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL

and

#### AREA TROPHY DONORS

Stafford – Rubery Owen Holdings Ltd
South Staffordshire – South Staffordshire Council/South Staffordshire Housing Association
Lichfield/Cannock Chase – The Leavesley Group on behalf of The National Memorial
Arboretum

Staffordshire Moorlands – Lafarge Cement East Staffordshire – Community Council of Staffordshire

#### FIFTY-FOUR VILLAGES ENTERED THE COMPETITION THIS YEAR

In the first round judges looked at all villages twice, once in May and once in June.

The villages judged twice in the first round were:

**STAFFORD** 

SOUTH STAFFORDSHIRE LICHFIELD/CANNOCK

		CHASE
Barlaston	Acton Trussell	Edingale
Burston	Bednall	Elford
Church Eaton	Bishops Wood	Fradley
Colwich & Little Haywood	Brewood	Harlaston
Fulford	Kinver	Haunton
Gnosall	Lapley	Hawks Green
Great Haywood	Pattingham	Heath Hayes
Haughton	Penkridge	Kings Bromley
Hilderstone	Stretton	Longdon/Longdon Green
Hopton	Swindon	Norton Canes
Oulton	Wheaton Aston	Stonnall
Walton-on-the-Hill	Wombourne	Upper Longdon
Yarnfield		Wall
		Wimblebury

## STAFFORDSHIRE EAST STAFFORDSHIRE

**MOORLANDS** 

Alton Abbots Bromley

Brown Edge Bramshall

Cauldon Lowe Denstone & Stubwood

Kingsley Holt Hoar Cross
Oakamoor Kingstone
Whiston Marchington

Rocester Tutbury Yoxall

Up to three villages from each category (large and small) with the highest percentage marks in each of the five areas went through to the Area Final round.

#### THE RESULTS WERE AS FOLLOWS:

# STAFFORD AREA COMPETING FOR THE RUBERY OWEN HOLDINGS LIMITED TROPHY

## **LARGE VILLAGE**

## **SMALL VILLAGE**

1<sup>st</sup> Gnosall 1<sup>st</sup> Hopton † Trophy winner

 $2^{nd}$  Yarnfield =  $2^{nd}$  Church Eaton  $3^{rd}$  Walton-on-the-Hill =  $2^{nd}$  Haughton

#### **HIGHLY COMMENDED**

Burston, Colwich & Little Haywood, Fulford, Great Haywood, Hilderstone, Oulton

# SOUTH STAFFORDSHIRE AREA COMPETING FOR THE SOUTH STAFFORDSHIRE COUNCIL/ SOUTH STAFFORDSHIRE HOUSING ASSOCIATION TROPHY

## LARGE VILLAGE

#### **SMALL VILLAGE**

1<sup>st</sup> Kinver 1<sup>st</sup> Acton Trussell † Trophy winner

2<sup>nd</sup> Penkridge 2<sup>nd</sup> Lapley 3<sup>rd</sup> Brewood 3<sup>rd</sup> Bednall

# **HIGHLY COMMENDED**

Bishops Wood, Pattingham, Stretton, Wheaton Aston, Wombourne

# LICHFIELD/CANNOCK CHASE AREA COMPETING FOR THE TROPHY SPONSORED BY THE LEAVESLEY GROUP ON BEHALF OF THE NATIONAL MEMORIAL ARBORETUM

# **LARGE VILLAGE**

# **SMALL VILLAGE**

1<sup>st</sup> Kings Bromley † Trophy winner 1<sup>st</sup> **Fradley** 

2<sup>nd</sup> Elford 2<sup>nd</sup> Stonnall 3<sup>rd</sup> Edingale **Norton Canes** 

#### **HIGHLY COMMENDED**

Harlaston, Haunton, Longdon/Longdon Green, Upper Longdon, Wall

# STAFFORDSHIRE MOORLANDS AREA COMPETING FOR THE LAFARGE CEMENT TROPHY

#### LARGE VILLAGE **SMALL VILLAGE**

1<sup>st</sup> Kingsley Holt † Trophy winner

2<sup>nd</sup> Oakamoor 3<sup>rd</sup> Cauldon Lowe

## **HIGHLY COMMENDED**

Whiston

# EAST STAFFORDSHIRE DISTRICT COMPETING FOR THE COMMUNITY COUNCIL OF STAFFORDSHIRE TROPHY

#### **LARGE VILLAGE**

## **SMALL VILLAGE**

1<sup>st</sup> Bramshall 1<sup>st</sup> Yoxall † Trophy winner 2<sup>nd</sup> Hoar Cross 2<sup>nd</sup> Abbots Bromley 3<sup>rd</sup> Kingstone

3<sup>rd</sup> Tutbury

# **HIGHLY COMMENDED**

Denstone & Stubwood, Marchington, Rocester

#### The overall winner in each area will receive the trophy and a cheque from the trophy donor.

The Area winners were judged in the County Final round to determine the

#### **COUNTY WINNERS**

LARGE VILLAGE **SMALL VILLAGE** 

**GNOSALL ACTON TRUSSELL** 

Each County Winner will receive a shield donated by the Community Council of Staffordshire and a tree donated by Mr Amyas Stafford-Northcote on behalf of CPRE

# AN AWARD OF SPECIAL COMMENDATION FOR CONSISTENT PARTICIPATION, EFFORT AND ACHIEVEMENT IN BKV OVER 50 YEARS IS AWARDED TO:

Yoxall

# WINNERS OF "THE SPIRIT OF BEST KEPT VILLAGE" COMPETITION SPONSORED BY RUBERY OWEN HOLDINGS LTD

Winner – Mr Jeremy Fallows, Kingsley Holt 2<sup>nd</sup> Prize – Mr Peter Lawrence, Haughton 3<sup>rd</sup> Prize – Mrs M Lawrence, Haughton

# WINNERS OF THE CHILDREN'S COMPETITIONS WILL BE AWARDED AT A SEPARATE PRESENTATION EVENING TO BE HELD AT ACTON TRUSSELL COMMUNITY CENTRE ON WEDNESDAY 14 SEPTEMBER 2016

Community Council of Staffordshire Suite 1A/1B The Whitehouse, 3A Chapel Street, Stafford, ST16 2BX Tel: 01785 242525

Website www.staffs.org.uk Email: communitycouncil@staffs.org.uk