COMMUNITY COUNCIL OF STAFFORDSHIRE

BEST KEPT VILLAGE COMPETITION 2013

MAIN SPONSORS

STAFFORDSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL

and

DISTRICT TROPHY DONORS

Stafford – Rubery Owen Holdings Ltd
South Staffordshire – South Staffordshire Council/South Staffordshire Housing Association
Lichfield/Cannock Chase – The Leavesley Group on behalf of The National Memorial
Arboretum

Staffordshire Moorlands – Lafarge Tarmac East Staffordshire – Community Council of Staffordshire

FIFTY-THREE VILLAGES ENTERED THE COMPETITION THIS YEAR

In the first round judges looked at all villages twice, once in May and once in June.

The villages judged twice in the first round were:

STAFFORD	SOUTH STAFFORDSHIRE	LICHFIELD/CANNOCK
		CHASE

Barlaston Acton Trussell Burston Bednall **Fulford** Bilbrook Gnosall Bishops Wood Great Haywood Brewood Haughton Coven Hilderstone Kinver Hopton Lapley Little Haywood Lower Penn Oulton Pattingham Penkridge Salt

Stowe by Chartley Stretton
Walton-on-the-Hill Wheaton Aston
Weston Wombourne
Yarnfield

m Wall

Armitage with Handsacre

Longdon/Longdon Green

Edingale Elford

Harlaston

Haunton

Heath Hayes

Kings Bromley

Upper Longdon

STAFFORDSHIRE EAST STAFFORDSHIRE

MOORLANDS

Alton Abbots Bromley

Brown Edge Bramshall

Cauldon Lowe Denstone & Stubwood

Kingsley Holt Kingstone
Oakamoor Marchington
Whiston Rocester

Tutbury Yoxall

Up to four villages from each category (large and small) with the highest percentage marks in each of the five districts went through to the District Final round.

THE RESULTS WERE AS FOLLOWS:

STAFFORD DISTRICT COMPETING FOR THE RUBERY OWEN HOLDINGS LIMITED TROPHY

LARGE VILLAGE

SMALL VILLAGE

 1^{st} Haughton \blacklozenge Trophy winner 1^{st} Burston $= 2^{nd}$ Weston 2^{nd} Salt $= 2^{nd}$ Yarnfield 3^{rd} Hilderstone

3rd Gnosall

HIGHLY COMMENDED

Colwich & Little Haywood, Fulford, Great Haywood, Hopton, Oulton, Stowe-by-Chartley, Walton-on-the-Hill

SOUTH STAFFORDSHIRE DISTRICT COMPETING FOR THE SOUTH STAFFORDSHIRE COUNCIL/ SOUTH STAFFORDSHIRE HOUSING ASSOCIATION TROPHY

LARGE VILLAGE

SMALL VILLAGE

 1^{st} Brewood 1^{st} Lapley \P Trophy winner 2^{nd} Bilbrook 2^{nd} Stretton 3^{rd} Coven 3^{rd} Bednall

HIGHLY COMMENDED

Acton Trussell, Bishops Wood, Kinver, Lower Penn, Penkridge, Wheaton Aston, Wombourne

LICHFIELD/CANNOCK CHASE DISTRICT COMPETING FOR THE TROPHY SPONSORED BY THE LEAVESLEY GROUP ON BEHALF OF THE NATIONAL MEMORIAL ARBORETUM

LARGE VILLAGE

SMALL VILLAGE

1st Kings Bromley † Trophy winner

2nd Longdon/Longdon Green

3rd Armitage with Handsacre

1st Elford

2nd Upper Longdon

3rd Haunton

HIGHLY COMMENDED

Edingale, Harlaston, Wall

STAFFORDSHIRE MOORLANDS DISTRICT COMPETING FOR THE LAFARGE TARMAC TROPHY

LARGE VILLAGE

SMALL VILLAGE

1st Brown Edge

1st Oakamoor † Trophy winner

2nd Whiston

3rd Cauldon Lowe

EAST STAFFORDSHIRE DISTRICT COMPETING FOR THE COMMUNITY COUNCIL OF STAFFORDSHIRE TROPHY

LARGE VILLAGE

SMALL VILLAGE

1st Yoxall † Trophy winner

2nd Abbots Bromley

3rd Tutbury

1st Marchington =2nd Bramshall

=2nd Kingstone

HIGHLY COMMENDED

Denstone & Stubwood

The overall winner in each district will receive the trophy and a cheque from the trophy donor.

The District winners were judged in the County Final round to determine the

COUNTY WINNERS

LARGE VILLAGE

SMALL VILLAGE

HAUGHTON

OAKAMOOR

Each County Winner will receive a shield donated by the Community Council of Staffordshire and a tree donated by Staffordshire Wildlife Trust

AN AWARD OF SPECIAL COMMENDATION TO GREAT HAYWOOD

WINNERS OF THE CHILDREN'S POSTER COMPETITION SPONSORED BY KGL (ESTATES) LTD

Age 5 – 7 category

Winner – Rhianna Morrison - Kinver 2nd Place – Sophie Scrivens –Kinver Highly Commended – Lydia Kaufman - Yarnfield

Age 8 – 11 category

Winner - Erin Morrison - Kinver
Joint 2nd Place - Katie Gill - Handsacre
Joint 2nd Place - Natasha Rae-Ann Bowater, Brewood
Highly Commended - Jack Zammit - Lower Penn

WINNERS OF THE STAFFORDSHIRE MOORLANDS CHILDREN'S POSTER COMPETITION SPONSORED BY LAFARGE TARMAC

Age 5-7 category

Winner – Abigail Wilshaw – Brown Edge 2nd Place – Jorge Shenton – Brown Edge

Age 8 – 11 category

Winner – Emily Karen Hargreaves – Brown Edge 2nd Place –Alithea Ashman – Brown Edge

WINNERS OF THE "IN REMEMBRANCE" COMPETITION SPONSORED BY THE LEAVESLEY GROUP ON BEHALF OF THE NATIONAL MEMORIAL ARBORETUM

Overall Winning Painting – Joint 1st Polly Brant – Kinver Joint 1st Rachel Niblett & Jess Jones - Kinver Outstanding Poem – Nathan Graham - Endon

Highly Commended

Painting – Chloe Edge – Cauldon Lowe Poem – Tom Dayson – Endon Poem – Leah Adams - Endon Submission – Ellie Emberson - Endon

Winning Schools

Edgecliff High School – Kinver Endon High School - Endon

Community Council of Staffordshire 1A/1B The Whitehouse, Chapel Street, Stafford, ST16 2BX Tel: 01785 242525 Fax: 01785 242176

Website: www.staffs.org.uk Email: communitycouncil@staffs.org.uk